Latency/loop back test question

For bug reports only - non-bug related questions will be moved to appropriate forum.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

69strat
Expert

Latency/loop back test question

Post by 69strat » Thu May 23, 2013 10:10 pm

Sorry if this has been covered previously but I'm relatively new to this and am stuck. My interface is a duet 2. I imported and arranged some drum loops and successfully overdubbed two guitar tracks and everything lined up/sounded great. I am now attempting to lay down some additional tracks and am experiencing some latency. I did a loop back test, zoomed in and attached a screenshot...not sure how to proceed. Thanks in advance, the customer service that I've observed on this forum is second to none,
Pete
Attachments
image.jpg
(225.67 KiB) Downloaded 238 times

Rim
Site Admin

Re: Latency/loop back test question

Post by Rim » Thu May 23, 2013 10:14 pm

Pete,

Welcome! From the picture, it looks like your latency is close to 0 (maybe a sample or two, but that's really insignificant). Can you describe how you're seeing latency? Note: you're going to hear some latency when recording - this is just the nature of using an audio interface without direct monitoring. But there shouldn't be any latency after the recording is done and you're playing back.

Rim

69strat
Expert

Post by 69strat » Thu May 23, 2013 10:54 pm

Wow, that was fast!
Here's what I did:
-imported/arranged multi track drum loops (complete song)
-mixed them and bounced to a new stereo track, drums finished.
-added a new track, selected record monitor off, recorded a couple of bars of rhythm guitar while listening to the drum tracks through monitor speakers (probably breaking lots of rules here but it worked and everything lined up)
-overdubbed two additional guitar tracks the same way (couple of bars)
-mixed them, loved what I heard